Saturday, January 3, 2009

Saving Abel - Saving Abel -Full Album 2008

Saving Abel is an American rock band formed by Jared Weeks and Jason Null in 2004. The band's name references the biblical story of Cain and Abel. Null came up with the name saying “I googled the story of Cain and Abel and found a line about ‘there was no Saving Abel,’ which just jumped out at me.” However despite the name, they're not a Christian band.

Jared Weeks and Jason Null formed the band in their small hometown of Corinth, Mississippi in 2004. Weeks was playing guitar at his best friend’s house, when Null, who was in a rival local group walked in to rehearse with his band. Within days of that meeting, Null and Weeks were writing songs for the future Saving Abel band. In early 2005, the pair’s songs caught the ear of noted producer Skidd Mills (ZZ Top, Saliva, and Robert Cray), who took the band into his 747 Studios in Memphis.

Saving Abel gradually came together with guitarist Scott Bartlett, bassist Eric Taylor, and drummer Blake Dixon. Weeks would toss Saving Abel demos onto the stage whenever bigger bands played in town. Weeks remembers: “ I used to work at a hospital. I’d have to be there at 4:30 in the morning drawing blood. I’d wake people up and stick a needle in their arm. I’d be walking around the hospital, singing ‘Addicted’ in my head, writing down the lyrics on patients’ clipboards and doctor script pads.

After shopping their EP for almost a year, a copy of ‘Addicted’ found its way to former Virgin A&R Consultant, Scott Frazier partner, Rick Smith. They were so excited that they sent the song to company CEO, Jason Flom. Flom heard enough to send A&R vet Kim Stephens (Collective Soul, Matchbox 20, Edwin McCain) to see the band in Jackson, TN.

Saving Abel released their self-titled, major label debut album on March 11, 2008. The album features the single "Addicted" which peaked at #2 on the US Mainstream Rock Chart. As of November 2008 Saving Abel's self-titled album has sold over 222,858 copies and peaked at #53 on the Billboard 200. The album itself was entirely made on FL Studio.

The band is set to begin a tour with Nickelback and Seether in early 2009.

Track List :
1. New Tattoo
2. Addicted
3. She Got Over Me
4. 18 Days
5. Drowning (Face Down)
6. In God's Eyes
7. Sailed Away
8. Beautiful Day
9. Out Of My Face
10. Running From You
11. Beautiful You

No comments:

Post a Comment